//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Do It All Again?

Hi there, I’m Christi, Seth’s wife. I thought it would be fun to jot down some thoughts I’ve been having and share them.

I was recently talking to a friend who told me about a survey in which parents were asked, “If you had it to do over, would you have kids again?”. Results were staggering, 70% replied, “No, they wouldn’t.” As you can imagine, I was pretty shocked.

As I’m trying to coax our six week old to sleep at 4:00am, I find myself thinking about the choice I’ve made to start a family and whether it was the right one. I’ll say this, it is the most difficult, frustrating, tear-inducing job I’ve ever had, but I wouldn’t change a moment of it! As frustrating as raising a toddler can be, the joy and laughter he has brought into our lives is beyond compare. Our second son has given me a run for my money, but his smiles just melt my heart. But it’s the thought that their future is so bright and hopeful that encourages me.

I do admit, I miss the freedom I had before these two wild boys joined our family. I miss the time when Seth and I could, on a whim, take weekend getaway or see the newest flick on opening night. Now, a solo trip to the grocery equates to a half day at the spa!

But for all the missed movies and couples retreats, there are family dinners and afternoons at the park that take their place. While albeit not as glamorous, they give me such joy and reaffirm that parenthood is the right path for me.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

