//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

One More Day

In an effort to bring you up to speed, allow me to recount the last couple of days. Yesterday, I participated in an activity that brings me great joy: playing football (soccer) with children. Accompanied by Dickson and Jimmy of Divine Waters, we picked up some ingredients to make porridge, soccer balls for entertainment and candy for the kids! Normally occurring every Saturday, they moved the event to Thursday to allow me to join them for a morning during my trip. Compassion International runs this project for 280 of the “neediest of the needy” children. Every Saturday, the selected children from around Lira Town assemble at Kirombe Church and School for studies, play time and a meal. I had a blast playing alongside and against the children, although my soccer skills are sub par. At one point, I kicked the ball over the fence and hit a man riding on his bicycle. Sorry!

After the work day had finished, I joined a few of the fellas from DWU for a run around the local track. After agreeing upon a reasonable distance, we put our feet to the dirt track and began. To make a short story even shorter, Edwin and I ran one mile while the other the other three chaps blazed through three. Daniel, the fastest man in the bunch, competes on the national team for Uganda and is training to qualify for the 2012 Olympic Games in London. I pray that God gives him the speed to perform well against the other competitors.

This morning I lead morning devotions for DWU for the second day in a row. The first day, I led discussion of John 15:1-17, The Vine and The Branches. Today, after feeling God’s leading the night before, I preached about the importance of using the only offensive weapon in the armor of God (Ephesians 6:10-17) and showed how Jesus used the Sword of the Spirit, the Word of God against Satan’s tempting (Matthew 4:1-11).

This afternoon, we drove around Murchison Falls National Park for a game drive in search of the elusive lion. We observed some amazing creations in their natural habitat. Animals: Uganda Kobs, Jackson Heart Beasts, Giraffes, African Cape Buffaloes, Warthogs, Hippos and Elephants. My personal highlight was seeing a group of 10-15 hippos submerged in the Nile River. Also, hearing how only one dominant male lives in the pod (herd) and the father will kill a male born into the group just to protect his power over the pod. Wow, I sure am glad my father loves me and welcomes me into the world as a baby.

I have not complained of the heat yet and I’m not going to start. I just thought I would point out that it is much hotter here in western Uganda than where I spent the rest of my week. I’m looking forward to cold and snow like you wouldn’t believe. More than anything though, I am missing my wife and son. I cannot wait to see Christi and Rylan!

I might be unable to use Internet for my remaining day in Uganda tomorrow. I have thoroughly enjoyed my experiences and sharing them with you. If you have any questions about anything I have mentioned or wish to ask about anything else, don’t hesitate to ask. The only bad question is the one not asked.

Apwoyo Mate & Opako Obonga! (Thank you very much and Praise God!)

Seth

Discussion

3 thoughts on “One More Day

  1. Sounds like a wonderful couple of days………….safe travels back to Parker!

    Posted by brenda | January 27, 2012, 9:47 PM
  2. Your posts have been very special, Seth. You are a great ambassador for our country and your faith! I am so happy you have had this “on the ground” experience! Love you and safe travels! Dad

    Posted by Neil | January 28, 2012, 12:40 AM
  3. Seth, thank you for all of your posts and providing us such great details of this journey. I am excited to see firsthand of how this journey strengthens your already strong faith. You have any amazing heart my friend! See you soon! – Josh

    Posted by joshrduncan | January 28, 2012, 2:02 PM

Leave a Reply

