//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Opako Obonga

As the dust settled, the constant laughter faded and the field was no longer filled with a single one. Thirty minutes prior, adults and children alike enjoyed the world’s sport and the diversity of two very different languages. On that morning, there was only one language that mattered: play. A ball made of plastic bags tied with rope was the only equipment needed. The canopy of trees providing well-needed shade from the scorching African sun. The tree trunks acted as posts creating exceptionally wide goals. Shouts of “Goal” and “Golo” were understood as the same celebration of a great kick past the keeper.  In the midst of this simple life where daily survival for self and family is one’s primary focus, a large munu learned that laughter and play are priceless.

Seth

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Opako Obonga

  1. Seth, great work for the Lord. Thanks for the updates. Al, Julie

    Posted by Al | January 26, 2012, 2:51 AM
  2. Hi Seth,

    I just caught up on all your posts, Sounds like a great trip and a spiritual enhancing trip for you.

    When you get back, I would like to host a Polumbus family party and get you to do a full run down on the whole trip. That might motivate some of us to get off our duffs more than we do and really do some positvely impactful things for some others in need.

    I would also like to respond positively to your request to help some of the ministries you are involved with regarding the water well drilling, so when you get back let me know how I can do that. Those water wells sound like a tremendous benefit to the villages and people affected and that makes it a great opportunity for ministry and for providing the villagers with a genuinely meaningful life without having a lot of material stuff.

    Your a great man Seth. Not sure why you associate with my son! … but I certainly admire what you are doing.

    Good luck with the restof your trip.

    Tad

    Posted by Tad Polumbus | January 26, 2012, 5:28 PM
    • Tad, thank you very much for your kind comments. In Luo (the language of Northern Uganda): Apwoyo mate. Yes, God has been ever present for the duration of my trip. I have been blessed to be around such amazing people and see their love for and obedience to Jesus acted out daily. I would be more than happy, thrilled in fact, to share my experiences with the entire Polumbus clan. And thank you for your interest and desire to help these communities. I would love to go into detail and answer any questions you may have. I thought I was informed before my trip; however, I have learned a great amount about the well drilling and installation process and WASH (Water, Sanitation and Hygiene) as a whole. I’ve also learned more about myself and my desires going forward in life.

      Your son is a greater man than I; that is why I associate with him!

      Thank you!
      Seth

      Posted by sethrolsen | January 26, 2012, 7:22 PM

Leave a Reply

